Authority Record Workform
To access the Authority Record workform, select Cataloging, Authority Records. Use the Authority Record workform to create new authority records or edit existing records. You can also automatically check MARC format and headings, and check for duplicate records.
The Authority Record workform header contains the control number, record status (final or provisional), and heading. Below the header is the MARC data for the authority record. See Creating MARC Records.
Use the toolbar on the Authority Record workform to:
- Print the authority record - Select File > Print and select the type of information to print. You can also click
to print the currently displayed record, or click the arrow next to the printer icon to select the other views to print. - Create an authority record - On a blank authority record workform, type information in the bottom section of the workform, and save the record. On an existing authority record, select File > New or click
to create a new bibliographic record. See Creating MARC Records. - Validate the MARC format of the record - Select Tools > Check MARC format, or click
. See Checking MARC Format. - Check for duplicate records - Select Tools > Check duplicates, or click
. See Checking for Duplicate Records - Check See Also From references - Select Tools > Check See Also From References, or click
. See Checking Authority Headings. - Check for linked records - Select Tools > Check for Linked Records.
- View linked bibliographic records - Select Tools > Show Linked Bibliographic Records or click
. - View linked See Also From records - Select Tools > Show Linked See Also From References.
- Create links to bibliographic records - Select Tools > Create Links to Bibliographic records. If there are possible bibliographic records that are unlinked to authority records, and this authority record could be linked, a list of the unlinked records appears.
- Create links to other authority records - Select Tools > Create Links to Authority Records.
- Sort the fields in the MARC data - Select Tools > Sort.
- Use a macro - Select Tools > Macro to display the Macros tool bar.
- To apply a macro, select a macro name in the Macros list and click
(Run Macro). See Apply a macro. - To record a macro, click
(Record Macro). See Record a macro. - Delete an authority record.
- Add a new field or subfield to the record. See Insert a subfield in a MARC record.
Use the MARC Editor section of the Authority Record workform to enter MARC data:
- Type title information in the bottom section of the workform. See Editing MARC Records.
- See Fixed Fields Reference for a list of dialog boxes to help you enter the Leader and fixed fields.
- Enter diacritics by selecting them from a dialog box. See Choose characters/diacritics from a chart.
- For shortcut keys, see MARC Editor (Keyboard).